Top Banner

Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Program

2011 CMAQ Program Information and Application:

The Connecticut Department of Transportation (CTDOT) has set aside $10 million of Congestion Mitigation Air Quality (CMAQ) funding each year for regional projects. Solicitations will be made every two years for this statewide competitive program. SWRPA is coordinating the 2011 program solicitation at the regional level for the Connecticut Department of Transportation (CTDOT). Interested parties are asked to notify SWRPA of an intent to apply before completing the full application. A SWRPA Candidate Project Summary Form is provided for this purpose.

Information on Connecticut's 2011 CMAQ Program and South Western Region details and schedule follow:

South Western Region CMAQ Milestones:

  • November 14, 2011 - Notice of intent to apply for funding along with the candidate project concepts is due at SWRPA (attention Sue Prosi).  Please use the CMAQ 2011 Candidate Project Summary 2011 Form;
  • January 3, 2012 - Full applications due at SWRPA. Please complete the 2011 CMAQ Scope of Work Instructions & Applications for each project and provide one paper copy and a digital copy to Sue Prosi
  • January 11, 2012 - TTAG review and development of recommended priorities for MPO consideration;
  • January 26, 2012 - MPO endorsement of CMAQ applications and priorities.


The Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Improvement Program is a federal program that funds transportation projects and programs that contribute to attainment or maintenance of the national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) for ozone, carbon monoxide, and particulate matter. As a non-attainment area for ozone and particulate matter, Connecticut receives Federal CMAQ Improvement Program funds based on the population in the non-attainment areas of the state and the severity of air quality problems. The CMAQ program supports the two goals of improving air quality and relieving congestion.

The South Western Region is part of the New York/Northern New Jersey/Long Island, NY-NJ-CT area which is classified as moderate nonattainment which includes Connecticut’s Fairfield County, Middlesex County, and New Haven County.  In addition, Fairfield and New Haven Counties are part of the New York/Northern New Jersey/Long Island, NY-NJ-CT nonattainment area for fine particulate matter (PM2.5).

Eligible projects fall into the following categories:

  • Transportation Control Measures
  • Extreme Low-Temperature Cold Start Programs
  • Alternative Fuels and Vehicles
  • Congestion Reduction and Traffic Flow Improvements
  • Transit Improvements (new / expanded services)
  • Bicycle and Pedestrian Facilities and Programs
  • Travel Demand Management (TDM)
  • Public Education and Outreach Activities
  • Transportation Management Associations
  • Carpooling and Vanpooling
  • Freight / Intermodal
  • Diesel Engine Retrofits & Other Advanced Truck Technologies
  • Idle Reduction
  • Training
  • Inspection and Maintenance (1 /M) new / expanded programs
  • Experimental Pilot Projects

For more information on the CMAQ program, please visit:

Contact Us:

If you have questions or would like further information, please contact:

Sue Prosi
Senior Regional Transportation Coordinator
888 Washington Blvd
Stamford, CT 06901

Phone: 203-316-5190
Fax: 203-316-4995

Contact with comments or questions about this site.


Website Developed by Starfighter Labs
© 2011 - 2012. South Western Regional Planning Agency (SWRPA). All rights reserved.