Top Banner
Hazard Mitigation Planning

Hazard Mitigation/Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan


The South Western Regional Planning Agency (SWRPA) has a Pre-disaster Mitigation (PDM) Plan (now referred to as Hazard Mitigation Plan, or HMP) in place for the eight municipalities which comprise the South Western Region.  The purpose of the HMP/PDM Plan was to identify areas vulnerable to natural hazards, and to then develop mitigation strategies aimed towards the reductions in loss of life and property stemming from such natural disasters.  In addition, the plan fulfills prerequisites necessary for certain federal and state grants as they relate to mitigation and disaster assistance. The current plan was approved by FEMA on June 9, 2011 and was also adopted locally by SWRPA and it's municipalities.

The plan took into consideration the following natural disasters: floods, coastal storms and nor'easters, hurricanes, blizzards/severe winter storms/ice storms, drought, sea level rise, earthquakes, and dam failure. Each of these risks was evaluated for its likelihood of occurrence and potential for loss of life and property.  To try to minimize these losses, the plan established mitigation goals, objectives and strategies that minimize the negative consequences of natural disasters before they occur.

SWRPA and it's municipalities are currently working on an update to the 2011 plan, more details on the 2016 HMP/PDM Update, the current 2011 plan, and previous iterations can be found below.


2016 Plan Update

Take the SWR Natural Hazard Mitigation Survey

14-0519_2016PDM_Scope of Work_SWRPA.pdf - 6/30/2014Scope of Work (229.10 KB)

Revised2016_PDM Schedule.pdf - 6/30/2014Project Schedule (25.49 KB)

Hazard Mitigation Workshops (*NEW!*)

SWRPA has partnered with The Nature Conservancy (TNC) to conduct Hazard Mitigation Workshops for the region and each municipality. Workshop objectives seek to:

  •       Understand connections between ongoing community issues, hazard and local planning/mitigation processes.

  • Evaluate strengths and vulnerabilities of residents, infrastructure and natural resources to hazards.
  •       Develop and prioritize actions for the municipality, local organizations, businesses, private citizens, neighborhoods, and community groups

  •       Identify and map vulnerabilities and assets and develop infrastructure, societal and natural resource risk profiles.

  • Identify opportunities to advance actions that further reduce the impact of hazards and increase resilience. 

The workshops will run from 8:45am to 1:30pm. The dates, locations, involved municipalities, and RSVP details are included below:

  •  *November 18, 2014: New Canaan, Wilton, Weston – Wilton Town Hall, Meeting Room A
  •  *November 24, 2014: Darien, Norwalk, Westport – Norwalk Community Room 128, Norwalk City Hall
  • December 1, 2014: Stamford – 6th Floor Safety Training Room, Stamford Government Center
  • December 18, 2014: Greenwich - Town Hall Meeting Room, Greenwich Town Hall
*Although workshop contains multiple municipalities, each municipality will sit at their own table(s) so that their specific/individual municipal concerns and input are appropriately captured.

RSVP: Dr. Adam Whelchel; 860-970-8442 or
Space is limited, so please RSVP as soon as possible

 Advisory Committee Meeting Summaries

14-0612_Final Meeting Summary.pdf - 6/30/2014June 12, 2014 (131.91 KB)

14-0922_Meeting Summary.pdf - 11/3/201414-0922_Meeting Summary.pdf - 11/3/2014 (168.75 KB)

2011 Plan (Current Plan)

710Predisaster Mitigation Plan 2011 (2 Mb) adopted 5/26/2011

710Appendices (5.2 Mb)

710 2011 Update Meeting Summaries (1 Mb)

710FEMA Approval - June 6, 2011 (2 Mb) 

710 PDM Brochure (0.8 Mb) - added 7/15/2011


2005 Plan

Other Plans

State of Connecticut Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update - Adopted January, 2014

Project Team:


Federal Emergency Management Agency

State of Connecticut, Department of Emergency Management and Homeland Security (DEMHS)

Town of Darien

Town of Greenwich

Town of New Canaan

City of Norwalk

City of Stamford

Town of Weston

Town of Westport

Town of Wilton

Contact Us:

If you have comments or would like additional information, please contact:

Robert Sachnin
Regional Planner
888 Washington Boulevard
Stamford, CT 06901

Phone: 203-316-5190
Fax: 203-316-4995

Website Developed by Starfighter Labs
© 2011 - 2012. South Western Regional Planning Agency (SWRPA). All rights reserved.